• 9311076.jpg
  • 12667046.jpg


markeurresat.pngMusée d'Art et d'Histoire de Provence

Grasse
Patrimoine culturel

2 Rue Mirabeau
06130 Grasse
France


Tarifs
Full price: 2 €.

Free entry for children < 18 years, Job-seeker, disabled people.
Ouverture
All year round, daily.
Closed exceptionally on January 1st and May 1st.

The Provence Art and History Museum brings together, in the Clapiers-Cabris mansion, large collections devoted to both everyday life in eastern Provence since prehistoric times, and fine arts and decorative arts from the 17th century to the first half of the 20th century.
This regional museum is the work of François Carnot (1872-1960), son of the former President of the Republic who married, in Grasse, Valentine Chiris, daughter of a perfume industrialist responsible for inventing solvent extraction. The creation of this museum quickly drew the local elite and a number of French and foreign donors. It is based on a large group of Friends of the Museum, owners of the collections, which today supports the museum’s development and activities.

With a focus on regional archaeology and popular arts and traditions, expressed in a selection of paintings, sculptures, graphic arts, furnishings, ceramics, glassware, textiles, jewelry, and weapons, the museum tells the history of eastern Provence where traditions, firmly rooted in everyday life, fostered the emergence of strong local identities.

In this mansion, which has retained its original interior of staterooms and private spaces, visitors will find accurate and fascinating room reconstructions and educational exhibition in a harmonious museology cover three levels overlooking the gardens on the south side.

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire de Provence

43.65758, 6.922508

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire de Provence

43.65758, 6.922508

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire de Provence

43.65758, 6.922508

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire de Provence

43.65758, 6.922508

• 9311076.jpg
  • 12667046.jpg


markeurresat.pngMusée d'Art et d'Histoire de Provence

Grasse
Patrimoine culturel

2 Rue Mirabeau
06130 Grasse
France


Tarifs
Plein tarif : 2 € (ticket donnant accès à la Villa Jean-Honoré Fragonard).

Gratuit pour les moins de 18 ans, les demandeurs d'emploi, les personnes handicapées.
Ouverture
Toute l'année, tous les jours.
Fermetures exceptionnelles les 1er janvier et 1er mai.
Juillet/ août : 10h - 19h
De septembre à juin : 10h - 18h.

Le Musée d’art et d’histoire de Provence rassemble, au sein de l’hôtel de Clapiers-Cabris, d’importantes collections consacrées à la vie quotidienne en Provence orientale et aux Beaux-arts et arts décoratifs du 17e siècle à la 1ère moitié du 20e siècle.
Ce musée régionaliste est l’oeuvre de François Carnot (1872-1960), fils de l’ancien Président de la République marié, à Grasse, à Valentine Chiris, fille de l’industriel en parfum qui est à l’origine de l’extraction au solvant. La création de ce musée rassemble rapidement l’élite locale et nombre de donateurs français et étrangers. Elle repose sur une importante Société d’amis du musée, propriétaire des collections, qui accompagne aujourd’hui le développement et les activités du musée.

Autour de l’archéologie régionale et des arts et traditions populaires, d’une sélection de peintures, sculptures, arts graphiques, mobiliers, céramiques, verreries, textiles, bijoux et armes, le musée restitue l’histoire de la Provence orientale dont les traditions, solidement ancrées dans la vie quotidienne, ont favorisé l’émergence d’identités locales fortes.

Dans cet hôtel particulier, qui a conservé sa distribution originelle en salles d’apparat et espaces privés, reconstitutions de pièces où il ferait bon vivre et expositions didactiques se côtoient harmonieusement sur trois niveaux ouverts côtés sud, sur le jardin.

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire de Provence

43.65758, 6.922508

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire de Provence

43.65758, 6.922508

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire de Provence

43.65758, 6.922508

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire de Provence

43.65758, 6.922508